Tomatoes, Eggs & Chorizo

If you ask Steve my favorite thing to do in the kitchen, he will say it’s to tell him to say “yes chef” when he’s helping me. He wouldn’t be lying but I wouldnt say its my favorite thing to do. My favorite thing to do is borrow a recipie I find online or in a cookbook and modify it to make it my own – sort of like an evil kitchen scientist (Steve’s term, not mine). It’s not that I think I’m a better chef – but I try and squeeze as much goodness into one meal as I can.

510AI7sYiWL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_Recently I bought this cookbook for a reddit swap I’m doing. Before I mailed it off to my swap partner I decided to flip through it and see if there were any recipes that caught my fancy. Of course I found 5 or 6 that I liked so being cheap thrifty I photocopied a few I thought looked good and I made one last night.

Joe calls it Tomatoes, Eggs & Chorizo which I personally think is a bit of a weird name for a recipie. But this guy is all about simple, healthy meals so why make it more complex than need be?

IMG_20160110_131714651

The original recipie from the cookbook

The original recipie looks really yummy and I dont doubt I’ll make it in the future just as Joe  intended – I had a fridge full of veggies that needed to be used. So I spiced it up a little bit by adding onion, garlic and peppers.

I sauted the veggies in canola oil along with the chorizo. It took 10-15 min since there was a lot of veggies. After everything was soft and the kitchen smelled amazing I added 2 cans of tomatoes. The recipie called for one but since I always cook for 2+ meals I added two and some water to thin it out a bit.

Once the tomatoes have heated up and everything is bubbling and beautiful smelling add a pinch of red chili flakes – depending on how hot you want it you can add cayenne pepper as well. I didn’t but Steve added some to his bowl.

Turn the heat down to low and carefully make little divots in the pan with a spoon. Slowly add the eggs – I suggest adding at least 4 to this size or more. I ended up cooking 3 more. Make sure to salt and pepper the eggs when they’re still raw – the flavors will mix better. Once the eggs are in the dish put the lid on top and allow them to poach slowly. Keep an eye on them – they’re best when they’re just a little runny.

Here’s the final result – not pretty but oh so yummy! Steve and I both really enjoyed this meal – its full of veggies and lots of protein. This will go in my file for quick and easy meals for sure!

food6.jpg

3 thoughts on “Tomatoes, Eggs & Chorizo

  1. Pingback: Tomatoes,Eggs – SEO

Leave a Reply

