Sheet Pan Chicken

What has 2 thumbs and hates doing dishes? This girl here! I really hate dishes after spending the better part of my sunday bulk cooking for the week, making cupcakes and doing laundry. I’m too tired to come up with dinner for us but I also know I need to watch my purse this month as its Steves Birthday and someone needs a £70 airbrush… another story for another day.

So what do you do when you have random veg in the fridge, fresh raw chicken from costco and 2 thumbs? You make a sheet pan meal – that’s what!

chicken2

Italian sheet pan chicken – pre oven

If you’re looking for a beautiful instagram worthy meal to impress your in-laws this isn’t it. There’s no getting around the fact that sheet pan meals aren’t exactly beautiful. But what they lack in beauty they make up for in ease to prepare, cook and clean up.

I tossed this is my open already hot from cupcakes for 25 minutes while I made rice in the rice cooker.

Side note – if you dont own a rice cooker go out and buy one now. They’re not expensive, you dont need an instant pot or whatever the rave is right now. $10/£15 will buy you one from Walmart/Argos. Rice is so much easier to make in one and you can use it for all kinds of grains! My UK rice cooker and my US rice cooker

Making this is so easy – I got 2 ziplock baggies. Chicken in one and veggies in the other. I used green beans, tomatoes and onions. Use whatever looks goods or is about to go bad in your fridge. For the italian marinade I put olive oil, rapeseed oil, balsamic vinegar oregano, thyme, basil and a few cloves of garlic into our ninja and blitzed it for 30 seconds. Didn’t event get a cutting board dirty! Poured half into bag with chicken and half into veggie bag and let them sit while I continued to cook. Once the cupcakes we’re out of the open I poured the 2 bags onto the sheet pan and tossed it in. Voila!

chicken

Winner winner chicken sheet pan dinner!

There really isn’t a set recipie for this meal as you can adapt it to how you want it. Make it vegetarian and use tofu steaks (I think that’s a thing), do chicken strips and colorful veggies for kids. I always suggest in season veggies or whats on sale!

Do you make your own sheet pan chicken? How does your recipie differ from this one?

Leave a Reply

