Here Comes The Sun…

Living in the UK means a real lack of sunshine and vitamin D. Living in Atlanta means you get plenty of the above even if you work 60+ hours a week and aren’t super active.

I spent the last 2 years here in England wearing sweaters in the summer yet keeping my summer clothes at the ready in case the sun poked through (it rarely happens). So when I get the opportunity to be somewhere where the sun shines a lot and it’s warm enough to not to need a scarf – I get pretty excited.

That’s what happened to me this past weekend. Steve and I were on an extended beer run to Aachen, Germany. My iphone weather app told me it was going to be 65 and sunny – aka the warmest I have been since August last year. So to say I was excited was an understatement.

We spent Thursday at our favorite spot in Aachen, aside from the beer store. I packed sunscreen and even put it on in the morning before leaving our airbnb. I was prepared for this sunshine! The entire time we were there I would swim to the sunny spots, I laid out in the sun for a bit, I even insisted we eat outside to catch the last few rays.

The next few days we spent the day tooling around – eating and drinking and shopping. All in the sunshine, all with my arms and face towards the sun any time they could be. Heck I even stuck my arms out the window of the car. I was a full fledged sunflower the entire time we were there.

Fast forward to sunday night – we drove 6 hours back to Reading (including 2 on the ferry) and by the time we got home I was so itchy. My arms, hands and tops of my feet were covered in little blister like bumps. Not cool.

After 3 days of itching like a chicken-pox victim I headed to the pharmacy for some relief to be told I have heat rash. HEAT RASH?! I wore sunscreen in the partly cloudy weather of northern Germany on a day where the high was 70! How can I, an Atlanta girl, have heat rash?!

Well I do – I’m using an antihistamine cream to keep the discomfort at bay, but I think it’s time for me to admit that I can no longer handle sunshine like I used to. Hello 45 spf, long sleeves and a sun hat. I guess this is what the english call “english rose skin” – pale. Thank goodness for irish freckles.

 

 

Leave a Reply

