Welcome

I’ve told myself multiple times I need to get back into blogging – not because I’m good at it or I think people will read it – but because I need someone to talk to. And Steve is sick of listening.

I’m Bridget – I live in Reading, England and I hate cloudy days, I can’t drive on the left side of the road & my favorite store to shop at is Target. You might be getting the picture that England isn’t the ideal place for me. But for better or for worse I am here for the foreseeable future so I had better make the best of it.

Steve and I moved here 2 years ago for Steve’s job, thinking how close we would be to London and how cheap travel would be. We had big dreams of traveling through Europe for $10 a day, seeing shows in London every weekend and living the high life of expat existence.

Reality check – 20% VAT (value added tax) on EVERYTHING, trains to London costing $65 for the both of us for a day, and those cheap european flights – they depart from tiny airports at 3am and don’t allow you any luggage. Lets just say the rose colored glasses came off pretty fast and the reality of living away from our friends, our family and everything we know set in.

I don’t want you to think we’ve only had bad time here thus far, we’ve had some amazing ones. Unfortunately the not so good times have been very prevalent.

This blog is going to be the truth about our lives – not just the instagram worthy meals and the blue sky days we get – but the everyday life stuff, like what I cook for dinner, when we miss our friends & the long holiday weekends we are stuck in town because we can’t afford to travel abroad.

Leave a Reply

